Here’s Who’s Going To The Super Bowl

1,098 total views, 1 views today

It’s Super Bowl season! Every Sunday night, we’ve plopped down in front of our TVs and attempted to predict which teams would or wouldn’t make it to the big game. Last night, two football matches determined the final, official pair of teams that will face off Sunday, February 3, in what’s easily the most-watched event of the year.

The first of yesterday’s games squared the New Orleans Saints against the Los Angeles Rams, at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in the Saints’ home of New Orleans. The game went into overtime, with a score of 23-23 at the final quarter thanks to a 48-yard field goal from Rams kicker Greg Zuerlein. Although the Saints won in overtime, they lost the game. This means the Rams will be heading to the Super Bowl.

The second of yesterday’s games pitted the Kansas City Chiefs against Super Bowl mainstays the New England Patriots. This game also went to overtime, at a score of 31-31, with just eight seconds left in the final quarter. After about 12 minutes of overtime, the Patriots scored a touchdown that ultimately left the Chiefs as the game’s losers, yet again sending the Patriots to the Super Bowl.

These results haven’t come without controversy. Fans, commentators, and NFL figures alike are up in arms about a call late in the Rams-Saints game that may have unfairly tilted the game in the Rams’ favor. With less than two minutes left in the final quarter, Saints player Tommylee Lewis took a helmet-to-helmet tackle from Rams corner Nickell Robey-Coleman. A pass interference penalty was not called despite many people insisting one was needed, and the head of the referee crew has said he didn’t see the play. Regardless, the Saints still lost yesterday.

Last night’s results mean that the Rams and the Patriots will face off for Super Bowl LIII, taking place in about two weeks, on February 3. The game begins at 6:30 p.m. EST, when you can catch it on CBS or stream it using the CBS Sports app, on, or via CBS All Access. We’re stoked to find out who wins!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *